Meet our 2021–22 committee.

To find out more about how to join our committee, visit our join us page.

James Drewett-Whatley

Club captain and COVID officer

"Hiya, I’m the club captain for this year. Here’s to it being a bit more busy and full of activities.

"I’ve been a member of the club since first year, and I’ve been a leader on walks and a committee member for most of the years since.

"Now, I’m heading into my fourth year of Mechanical Engineering (wow that time has gone). I hope to continue to support the club in holding weekly walks and events for you all.

"Here we go into a new year, so come along for walks, a natter, and a pleasant time!"

Katie Jones

Secretary and publicity officer

"Hi, I’m Katie and I am going into the third year of General Engineering, specialising in civil engineering.

"As the secretary and publicity officer for the club, my role is to send out the weekly updates, maintain the social media sites and website and keep the minutes for any committee meetings held.

"I am looking forward to taking part in lots more walks this year and seeing lots of new people."

Tom Cracknell


"Hi, I’m Tom and I am the SUWC Treasurer for 2021-22.

"I will be looking after the club treasure hoards (unfortunately I am not authorised to buy everybody drinks) and sorting out any other money related duties to help you and the club keep walking.

"I am a third year Aerospace Engineer and an avid walker. Most of my university life has been overshadowed by that pesky bug going around but luckily, I have still been able to become an active member of SUWC.

"I am one of the walks leaders and hope to see all of you on walks in the coming year."

Nicole Clarke

Safety and training officer, inclusions officer

"Hi, I’m Nicole and I’m the safety and training officer and the inclusions officer this year.

"I’m going into my third year studying biochemistry and genetics and have always loved the outdoors. I take part in quite a few sports and just generally enjoy being out in the peak district.

"If you want to speak to someone about any concerns regarding inclusions, or want to find out more about training, health and safety in the club I’m the person to speak to."

Phoebe Blake

Social secretary

"Hello, I am this year's social secretary. I'm excited to get organising lots of fun socials for the upcoming university year, and to make up for the limited opportunity for socials this past year.

"I'm heading into third year and studying Politics and Philosophy. I have enjoyed taking part in SUWC walks over my time in Sheffield.

"I'm looking forward to the upcoming year and meeting some new people in SUWC."

Richard Carter

Walks officer

"Hi everyone, my name’s Richard and I’m a third-year aerospace engineering student.

"I’m a fan of hiking, climbing, cycling, camping and I also enjoy a bit of astronomy and motorsport.

"I’m the walks officer this year so I’ll be responsible for trying to organise and keep tabs on walks throughout the year."

Harvinder Lehal

Equipment officer

"Hi, my name’s Harvi and I’m a fourth year mathematics and statistics student.

"I’m a keen hiker, swimmer and I am often taking pictures of nature on my walks. I am also a walks leader so hope to see many of you on quite a few walks this year.

"I am the equipment officer for the year and will be responsible for merchandising. If you have any suggestions for what sort of merchandise you would like to see us provide, do let me know."

Hanz Tantiangco

Trips officer

"Hi, I'm Hanz and I'm a 2nd year PhD student. The type of walks I enjoy are the long and challenging ones.

"I'm continuing my role as the trips officer this year (fourth year running!), which makes me responsible for organising the club's trips around the UK.

"I am excited to continue being a committee member this year and hope to see plenty of you on our trips and walks."